Back Home Table of Contents

Tabs and Windows

NPS Image Editor allows you to edit multiple documents at the same time, either in tabs or separate windows.

Tabs

Tabs are available starting in NPS Image Editor version 5.1.

You can open multiple documents in the same window using tabs. Tabs will appear as a strip at the top of the screen when in wide layout, or in a gallery view when in a narrow layout. The gallery view can also be accessed in desktop mode by clicking the "All tabs" button to the left of the first tab.

Hovering over a tab will display a preview of the document.

Tear-off tabs

You can move a tab out of the main window and into a new window by dragging it outside of the main window. You can also drag a tab from one window into another existing window to dock it in place.

Duplicate tab

You can duplicate your current document by right-clicking on its tab and selecting Duplicate. This will allow you to work on a copy of that document.

Close tab

Close a tab using its X icon or by middle-clicking. In Gallery View, you can also swipe the tab left or right to close it.

Reopen accidentally-closed tab

Use File -> Reopen Closed Tab or the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+T to reopen the last tab you closed.

This feature must be enabled in Options. Enabling this feature requires NPS Image Editor to save a copy of your document before closing its tab, which will reduce performance and increase disk usage.

Window management

The Window menu allows you to close all windows, bring specific windows to the front, or open a new window. If tabs are disabled, your only way to edit multiple windows is to use the Window menu.

Some platforms such as iPhone do not allow opening multiple windows, so you must use tabs if you want to edit multiple documents at the same time.

Pop-out dialogs

On desktop platforms, various dialog windows can be contained within the main NPS Image Editor window, or popped out and moved independently.

To pop out a window, click the "pop out" button in the title bar. To pop it back in, click the "pop in" button. This setting is remembered for each window.